Showing posts with label Willie Martinez. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Willie Martinez. Show all posts
Wednesday, December 2, 2009
Staff changes
According to Joe Schad, Willie Martinez, John Fabris and Jon Jancek's contracts will not be renewed in 2010. They have all been let go. They have been asked to stay on as coaches through the bowl game.
Labels:
JoeSchad,
John Fabris,
Jon Jancek,
Willie Martinez
Monday, November 16, 2009
Game Time for Georgia Tech is set
The game against Georgia Tech has been set for 8pm est Saturday the 28th on ABC. This should be real test of Willie Martinez's ability as a DC. Everyone knows that GT run the option, so lets how he does to stop it. We all know the outcome of last year's game.
The Auburn vs Alabama game is set for 2:30 est Friday the 27th on CBS.
The Auburn vs Alabama game is set for 2:30 est Friday the 27th on CBS.
Monday, October 12, 2009
Not just the Bloggers anymore
After the humiliating defeat the Georgia Bulldogs took at the hands of the Tennessee Volunteers it is not only the bloggers and fans that are turning on Willie Martinez, but the media is now also calling for his job. Here is an interesting article I read today:
http://bleacherreport.com/articles/269939-by-the-numbers-is-willie-martinezs-job-safe-at-georgia
They stated the same stats that I put up a few weeks ago. They did state an interesting fact though that the winner of the SEC Championship game over the past years has been ranked constantly either #1 or #2 in total defense in the SEC.
Saturday, October 10, 2009
What to do about the coaching staff?
Well, this has been an interesting season. First I would like to point out the fact that Georgia could easily be 0-6 right now, but our players have had such heart and determination that they pulled out 3 wins for us. I am not putting blame on the players for any of the three losse. They have been playing there hearts out. As far as our coaches are concerned I am holding them totally responsible for everyone of our losses.
Coach Martinez again and again has proven that he does not know how to prep our team for games. We made Crompton look like an all-SEC QB this week with him having a career day against our defense. Pretty much every team, except LSU, has put up outstanding numbers against out pass defense. Today was the third time this year that our defense has given up over 37 points in a game. Martinez has always stated that he plays a "bend don't break defense". Well, Willie guess what, our defense has been broken and humiliated three times this year. Martinez must go no questions asked. If Richt will not do this then AD Evans needs to step in and take control of the situation.
Coach Bobo needs to do something about the offense, it has been completely stagnant the past two weeks. Joe Cox is not the answer, yes he did look very good against Arkansas but everyone can have a good game, also Arkansas's defense is worse than ours. Cox stares down his receivers every play. He is gone after this season, why not give some PT to the others QB's. Supposedly the word in Athens is that our two freshman QB's are not ready to play. Since Bobo is the QB coach I hold him totally responsible for them not being ready to play. He needs to also change up the play calling I can usually guess what play we are going to run before it is run. If I can do this so can every other DC is the SEC.
I am starting to get concerned with Coach Richt, he has no fire right now and looks almost like he does not care on the sideline. If Rich does not fire Martinez after this season there is a big problem. He has not changed the coaching staff since he took over. Changes need to happen and this is the responsibility of the Head Coach.
Labels:
Damon Evans,
Mark Richt,
Mike Bobo,
Willie Martinez
Sunday, September 20, 2009
Time for a new DC
Well, I have been up and down when it comes to Willie Martinez for the past two seasons. I am now in full support of firing Martinez, he needs to either resign or Mark Richt needs to fire him. Coach Richt needs to start to understand that Martinez is bringing him down in regards to his legacy at Georgia. Richt has done a great job since taking the reigns over at UGA, but hiring his best friend as DC was not a smart move. I am hoping that maybe since there is a co-defensive coordinator this year maybe Richt is thinking about transitioning Martinez out.
I have been doing some number crunching this morning and found out that our defense slowly has gotten worse every year since Martinez took over. Here are the defensive ranks for Georgia and points allowed since Martinez took over
Year P/G Y/G Rank
2005 16.4 313 yds 11th
2006 17.6 258 yds 9th
2007 20.2 323 yds 20th
2008 24.5 312 yds 28th
2009 34.0 406 yds 97th
If our defense keeps playing this year as it has those would be the final numbers (see above).
I looked at a lot of other numbers in regards to the defense. The number of sacks dropped by 18 since last year and we have slowly intercepted less and less passes every year since Martinez has taken over. Martinez runs a defense that is reactive to what the offense is doing, your best defensive coaches run a defense that make the offense adjust to what they are doing. You have to be aggressive and take it to the offense every time that they take the field. Martinez is more of a coach that wants to give up a small plays and sit back in zone, wait for the defense to make a play or the offense to make a mistake and let them try to pick you apart. This is exactly what has been happening in our last two games, luckily though we have been able to out score our opponents. I firmly believe that Martinez is just not smart enough to be a DC in the SEC. He is just being out coached in most of our games.
This is one of the biggest things that I do not understand about Martinez. If you are going to play a defense that is straight reactive than you need to make defensive adjustments at half time. I am pretty sure, he has not made one this season. In fact, if you ask me, this is just ridiculous! When you are getting embarrassed up and down the field you might want to change something for the second half.
Here is my solution, Martinez will not resign, he is going to have be fired or demoted to another position in the staff. Here are some candidates that we should go after:
Tommy Tuberville; currently unemployed as a coach
Dick Bumpas; DC, TCU
Norm Parker; DC, Iowa
Mark Banker; DC, Oregon State
Justin Wilcox; DC, Boise State
I would prefer us to go after Tuberville or Bumpas. Tuberville would be an expensive acquisition but well worth it.
Labels:
Dick Bumpass,
Justin Wilcox,
Mark Banker,
Mark Richt,
Norm Parker,
Willie Martinez
Saturday, September 19, 2009
Georgia vs Arkansas
Final: Georgia 52, Arkansas 41
Offense: Can not say too many bad things about the offense. Georgia racked up 530 total yards of offense. Joe Cox threw for 375 yards and five touchdowns. He connected with Green seven times for 137 yards and two touchdowns. Richard Samuel and Caleb King added a nice ground attack rushing for a combined 163 yards and one touchdown. The penalties on offense are getting ridiculous. We had holding and false start penalties all night long. They were killing us all night long. The offense also has got to do a better job of protecting the ball with the Bulldogs turning the ball over twice inside their own 30 yard line which led to 14 points.
Defense: Hmmmm, where should I start with our defense? Defense has always been the strongest part of all Georgia teams until Willie Martinez took over as defensive coordinator. I am convinced now that our defense from the Oklahoma State game was just fluke. The only good thing about our defensive performance tonight is that we did not give up 100 yards on the ground. However, this does not do too much when you let Ryan Mallet throw for 408 yards and five TDs. I am pretty sure that I can count the amount of times we blitzed on one hand. We can not consistently get a pass rush with just our four lineman. So why Mr. Martinez may I ask, would you just let Mallet sit in the pocket and pick apart our defense without even trying to provide any type of pressure. You have got to stop running zone coverages all game and just letting the defense sit back and wait for plays to happen. Try to take a proactive approach and have a proactive defense instead of a reactive one. If we give up 35+ points all our games we will lose games I can promise you this. Martinez you have to do something different, we have the players to have a great defense.
Labels:
Caleb King,
Joe Cox,
Richard Samuel,
Ryan Mallett,
Willie Martinez
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)